My life

Today I would like to share this with you. I had wrote this to my eye doctor after the operation. (I was born with cataracts. I had the operations last summer when I was twelve.) I couldn’t imagine how I could ever see better than this, for me that was seeing normally but I was far from that…

 

I walk in a world of fog, everything and everyone you look at. Walking down the street, someone calls you, you look back but can hardly see. …. you hear but cannot put a face to the voice… where black is grey, and white is cloudy…. you know that birds and butterflies exist but they are well hidden in a dark silhouette. You wait for the mist to lift, or at least improve but it only gets worse. Frustration …. Anger…. How can I ever escape this labyrinth? Finally, I ‘m told that soon I should be all right. There is light at the end of the tunnel and my life is about to change drastically. I sleep a deep sleep and when I wake up I feel confused. Where am I? The light is so bright! Never have my eyes been so open and yet so blind! I drift off to sleep again and after a few hours’ rest, I’m suddenly wide awake! I can see! Amazing! Where has the fog gone? Everything is so clear, sharp and bright. I am overjoyed! The world around me is so beautiful!

 

(The first thing I saw clearly was the TV. The colours were so bright! There was a cartoon on but I didn’t really take notice of what it was, I was just looking at the wonderful colours. 🙂 )

 

 

I don’t feel shy about it (actually it’s kind of cool to have shiny eyes when you look at the sun since my lens is now plastic or something.) I feel proud because it made me appreciate the world around me much more.

 

Thanks for reading! 🙂

Sincerely,

Gabriella.

🙂 🙂 🙂

 

Leave a comment